Winners of the 2015 Women's Empowerment Journalism Awards

Established in 2013, The Women's Empowerment (WE) Journalism Awards, which are sponsored by Diageo, recognise and honour outstanding reporting on women's issues across Asia Pacific.


womens award in journalism 2015

This year's awards ceremony took place in Hong Kong on March 5 in the lead up to International Women's Day. The winners were selected by three luminaries of journalism and social activism, including Monique Villa, CEO of Thomson Reuters Foundation; award-winning independent journalist, Shaili Chopra; and Yan Mei, one of China's leading media women and Senior Partner at Brunswick Group.

And the winners are:

  • Print Story of the Year: Ruhi Kandhari, Tehelka (India)
    Entry: How Women Pay The Price For Population Control
  • Broadcast Story of the Year: Pearl Maria Forss, Channel NewsAsia (Singapore)
    Entry: Women Fight Back
  • Online Story of the Year: Bec Zajac, Freelance (Australia)
    Entry: Power And Gender: How Schools Are Taking A Lead In The Campaign To End Violence Against Women
  • Photo Story of the Year: Altaf Qadri, Associated Press (India)
    Entry: She Sought Good Life In Delhi, But Found Trash
  • Journalist of the Year: Bec Zajac, Freelance (Australia)
  • Media Title of the Year: Vogue India (India)

Investing in women

Earlier that day a white paper entitled Women in Tourism and Hospitality: Unlocking the Potential in the Talent Pool was launched addressing the hospitality industry's talent needs to ensure long-term sustainable growth.

Developed by the Hospitality Industry Pipeline (HIP) Coalition, along with research partners from the University of Strathclyde and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, the coalition aims to raise awareness of ways to meet the demands of the industry talent shortage by recruiting, retaining, and investing in women. The HIP Coalition is led by Diageo and members include Accor, Banyan Tree Hotels and Resorts, Starwood Hotels & Resorts, CARE International and Sala Bai Hotel School.